Beginners and Beyond

do you get a Xmas bonus? (Read 444 times)

Docket_Rocket

Which makes me wonder if the company claims it as part of the 2012 expenses but pay it out much later...when they have money.  I used to be an accountant in my prior career life and we used to do shit like that because the company was low on money to pay payroll, etc.

Exactly. And I would bet that a bonus paid at year end(someone said February) or March isn't really a Christmas bonus.

Damaris

As part of the 2024 London Marathon, I am fundraising for VICTA, a charity that helps blind and visually impaired children. My mentor while in law school, Jim K (a blind attorney), has been a huge inspiration and an example of courage and perseverance. Please consider donating.

Fundraising Page

TxDiverMom

I am a CPA.  They can legitimately claim it as part of their 2012 expenses if they are on an accrual basis.  Performance bonuses aren't paid till after the earnings are audited because they want to be sure the earnings are actually there.  For smaller companies, I'm sure there is some funny stuff sometimes with the timing of payments.  But for the bigger companies, it's usually more about earnings (they have to report quarterly) than cash.

MtnBikerChk

running is bad for you

Which makes me wonder if the company claims it as part of the 2012 expenses but pay it out much later...when they have money.  I used to be an accountant in my prior career life and we used to do shit like that because the company was low on money to pay payroll, etc.

It's only a deduction if it's paid before March 15th 2013 (accrual or not - and assuming calendar year end).  If it's paid after 3/15 it's not a deduction in 2012.

Mmmmm...beer

No bonus here, but I have a good job that I like, and I've gotten a raise (sometimes pretty small, but a raise nonetheless) every year for the 10 years I've worked here, so I'm not complaining. Smile

-Dave

My running blog

Goals | sub-18 5k | sub-3 marathon 2:56:46!!

RSX