Beginners and Beyond

Gel for a marathon (Read 67 times)

Cyberic

I'm pretty new to this user group still so I'm not sure if this question would have been better posted on the main forums. But here goes.

In LRB's RR thread, there was a link to B-Plus' 2:55 marathon. That's pretty amazing IMO. Reading through the RR (BTW I found the idea to put the RR in the details of the run very good) the gel question resurfaced in my mind.

Last year, I was drinking in my runs. Less than an hour, I wouldn't bring anything. Over an hour, I'd bring my belt with either water or gatorade. I got used to drinking while running. In my half last fall, I drank gatorade like I was used to in my runs. Everything went smoothly.

Then came winter and the water would freeze in the bottles. So I got used to going for ~100 minutes with nothing to drink, on an empty stomach. Actually I'd get up, drink a glass of water or two, then go out for my run. About halfway through, I'd stop for a pit-stop and have a few sips of water, then finish my run.

Now summer is back, and I barely ever carry my bottles belt anymore because I feel better without and I'm used to running without drinking.

And then I read B-Plus' report and that reminded me that in a marathon, not only do you have to drink, but eat too! So here's my question: Is the gel thing necessary? Because if it is, I'll have to get used to it somehow, I mean get used to eating them and drinking while running. But at the same time I'm thinking that in the old days, no one was eating gels...

I'd like to hear (read) your thoughts on this.

RSX

You don't have to use gels or anything if they don't work for you. Try whatever you have in mind during your long runs and see if you improve those days. For years I got by on just fluids evolved to adding power bars, and last year tried gels. What worked for me in Boston this year were watered down Gatorade, Cliff Shots, sport beans, and regular jelly beans. My end result was based on stomach, and energy.