Beginners and Beyond

A question on long run pace... (Read 104 times)

Jack K.

uʍop ǝpᴉsdn sǝʇᴉɹʍ ʇI

Hi.

I am now training for my first marathon. I am in week four of the Pfitz 18/55 plan. I have run several HMs and my fastest pace was 7:19. I have been running consistently for about 18 months. According to McMillian a reference book I have, my long run pace should be around 8:40 - 8:50. Every time I run my legs seem to settle on a pace of somewhere around 8:20-8:30. I have to force myself to slow down and when I do, I feel as though I am plodding along with heavy feet. For example, today I ran 14 miles and my average pace was 8:19. I was not running hard, I was not pushing, and now I feel good. My legs are a bit tired, but I think that is because of the hills in my area. My question is this: Is my long run pace closer to what I ran today (8:19) or do I need to force myself to slow down to the 8:40? I want to train smartly and efficiently and avoid injury because I really want to "race" my marathon and not just run it. Sorry for going on and on and thanks for any advice. If you need more info on my times or running, feel free to ask.

Docket_Rocket

Former Bad Ass

That is a difficult question to answer.  If your 7:19 HM pace is current, then the MP would be what? 7:40ish?  If so, the long runs should be at 60-90 seconds off the MP, or yes, 8:40 or slower.  If you look at the Pfitz book, he advocates something similar and the LRs should be at

74% - 84% effort.  What GMP are you using?

The problem with the marathon is that it is an endurance event and running those LRs too fast will not provide you with the amount of time of your feet and endurance you will need on race day.  That is only on easy LRs and not the ones that he wants you to run MP, etc.