Beginners and Beyond

The Fashionably Late TUESDAILIES (Read 49 times)

happylily

Fantastic fast times, George. I'm curious, is a Master over 40? I've heard the term Grand Master, which I assume must be over 50? Did you stop running marathons when you turned 40?

PRs: Boston Marathon, 3:27, April 15th 2013

Cornwall Half-Marathon, 1:35, April 27th 2013

18 marathons, 18 BQs since 2010

wcrunner2

Are we there, yet?

Fantastic fast times, George. I'm curious, is a Master over 40? I've heard the term Grand Master, which I assume must be over 50? Did you stop running marathons when you turned 40?

Until I started training for ultras two years ago, my last marathon had been in 1981 when I was 35.

2024 Races:

03/09 - Livingston Oval Ultra 6-Hour, 22.88 miles

05/11 - D3 50K, 9:11:09
            05/25 - What the Duck 12-Hour

06/17 - 6 Days in the Dome 12-Hour.

Just read a great article in RT about attitude.

http://www.runnersworld.com/race-training/elite-state-mind?page=single

Interesting article, that's for sure.  A main takeaway being that we need to think about how other people will interpret comments and actions that are not necessarily meant to "snub", as the author puts it.

"There's this idea that when you're in the front of the pack you deserve something [attention, respect] that people in the back of the pack may not deserve," she says, "that it's really about 'us and our experience, up here at the front.'"

"Most of the runners I talked to seem not to look past their own communities," Henning says, noting that the majority of her subjects were white, middle-or upper-middle-class, and in their late 20s to mid-40s. "They don't seem to be conscious of what's outside their immediate running experience. They don't want to consider people who may work two or three jobs or who don't have access to the same advantages that they do."