Beginners and Beyond

How would you run this next marathon? (Read 117 times)

Slow and pictures or bag the race. I am a dumb noob and know that.

”Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.”

“Whether you think you can, or you think you can't--you're right.”

Tomas

Adam_McAllen

Beer-and-waffle Powered

Personally, I feel like a race effort for a race you haven't been focusing on is a waste and that you'd be better off just enjoying the "fin de semaine des courses". If your hamstring is bothering you then don't be afraid to drop out. Trust me, I feel a lot better about dropping out of the Paris Marathon than I do about racing two XC races a few months prior (which likely contributed to me DNF'ing Paris).

In the words of my late-coach : Just hang in there, relax... and at the end of a race anyone you see.....just pass them

Mostly harmless

I haven't read anyone's replies. I barely had time to read your whole post.

My 2 cents is to go for the PR.  You know you want to. Fuck common sense and logic and all that shit. You'll either have a great time or flame out in a big way. Go for it.

"It doesn’t matter how often you do it or how much you accomplish, in general, not running is a lot easier than running." - Meb Keflezighi

happylily

Many great answers, thank you so much. I am leaning toward the go easy, mostly because of what Adam said: " I feel like a race effort for a race you haven't been focusing on is a waste." This was never meant to be my PR race, so why waste energy when I know I'm already depleted of PR energy... And what LTH indicated about McMillan is serious stuff.  

I like the idea of running just a tad faster than my first. I would see it a challenge to hit an exact number, a pacing challenge. I also like the idea of hopefully being able to help a few people who are struggling in their last miles. I'll have to pass on the fairy idea, though it is a lovely. Smile