Beginners and Beyond

Freezing FRIDAILIES (Read 50 times)

outoftheblue

I will definitely try this.  Thanks Rick!

Life is good.

onemile

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor but i

Now then, picture yourself sitting in a chair with proper posture; 

Place a ball around the size of a cantaloupe between your knees (or your fists side by side, or two pillows) and squeeze your knees together at 50 % pressure for a count of five, then relax for a count of five (without letting the ball drop).

To get a feel for what 50% pressure is squeeze your knees together with all your might briefly, then use half of that. 

A PT showed me this and when I do it I sometimes get a painful popping where my hip socket is, on the inside. It happened at an appointment and the PT heard it pop and he said it corrected my leg length discrepancy.   So now I pop it on my own sometimes.  I can only do it sometimes, most often after a long run.  But when I can do it, it seems to make my right leg feel better when I am having issues.   Weird,  huh?

Docket_Rocket

Former Bad Ass

My 5 miles after Pilates were tough.  Couldn't breathe or I'm tired.  Still, it's my RD so I just moved a run so maybe it's that.

Damaris

Docket_Rocket

Former Bad Ass

You guys are cracking me up with all these posts!

Damaris

In my limited experience, the tough thing about Boston is overcoming the temptation to go out *way* too fast for way too long. You start on a fairly major downhill.  The crowds begin to build after the first couple miles.  You're running Boston and everyone around you is at a similar pace.  This is awesome!  Then,  Wellesley is loaded with cray-cray girls that make Beatles footage seem tame.  Then, you get to 14-15, start to pay for your indiscretion, and boom, here comes Newton at 16.    The hills aren't even bad, but like Lily and George said, they are right where trouble tends to happen anyway.  Pew, pew (lasers), #crashandburn.

Yasso 800s today Big grin, 9.95 total.

Hip Redux