Masters Running

A bit about yourself (Read 2408 times)

I'm 61 years old, married 26 years with a 22-year-old son. I live in Rochester Hills, which is a northern suburb of Detroit. I'm a software engineer by profession, working in and around the auto industry for about 44 years now. I've jogged off and on from when I was about 30, but only started really running about 9 years ago. I ran 3 marathons in my first 5 years, but since then have specialized only in half-marathons and shorter. Since I'm getting into better and better condition, my times have consistently come down, and I have been setting PRs at almost every distance. I figure that eventually aging will catch up to my conditioning and I'll start slowing down, but for now I'm enjoying myself. I have also been doing a lot of bicycling the last couple of years, and my plans for 2008 include retiring at the end of March, and then stepping up my running and cycling mileage for the rest of the year.

Doug, runnin' cycling in Rochester, MI

"Think blue, count two, and look for a red shoe"

va

Hi roch, That's awesome that you continue to improve. What do you attribute your improvement to? Do you think bicyling has helped you improve as a runner? The reason I ask is that I am going to be doing a lot more cross-training (e.g., biking), in the new year...
      Teresadfp

One day at a time