Masters Running

How much to pay a race director? (Read 265 times)

coastwalker

Hi all,

I've been helping organize road races for almost 2 decades, but always on a volunteer basis. I've just been asked to interview for a spot as a paid race director for a new race in the area. One of the questions will be how much I want to get paid. I don't have a clue about how to figure that out. This will be one in a series of races that are fundraisers for a national non-profit organization. I don't know (and I realize I have to get this information) how long the race will be (I expect a 5K or 10K), or how many people they expect to participate (I expect at least 1,000+).

Does anybody have a clue about how to determine a reasonable/competitive rate of pay to organize and direct a road race?

Thanks for your help.

Jay

Without ice cream there would be darkness and chaos.

I guess it all depends on how much responsibility you have directly.  Volunteer recruting & training, course mapping & approval, police & traffic control, finish line timing & results, finish area details, packet pick up details, shirt ordering, registration, finding sponsors etc.  Is there a board appointed by them? or do you have to seek out volunteers to be on the board? Did they give you a budget and is it reasonable?   You will need access to a buliding and/or tents and toilets.  Finish line professionals or a large group of experienced volunteers to work a low tech finish line. 

I only know of one paid race director but his pay is voted on by the board after the final figures are in, he is usually around $1 per runner 1,200-1,500. 

I don't know how much I helped but some food for thought.  The first year is definitely the hardest. 

Courage ! Do one brave thing today...then run like hell.

Maniac 505