Nashville ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

complaint (Read 985 times)

Oh Mighty Wing

high school seniors are too young to die. please hold onto your loved ones tonight and plan to do some invigorating this weekend... celebrate your life this week in honor of my young friend...
    Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey

Oh Mighty Wing

What happened?
      one of my favorite students, a senior, was killed when his car went off the road on saturday morning. he was medivacked to a hospital in philly where he died. that's all the details I know. I heard something about him falling asleep behind the wheel, but will probably hear more from the rumor mill later this afternoon.

Why is it sideways?

Shan, that's tough. When I was a teacher and a coach, my XC and track captain (also advisee, physics student, and running buddy) was hit by a train as he crossed a set of railroad tracks on his way to school and killed. He also was a senior, and it was around this time of year, a little later. It's a sad thing and as you say a reminder of how precious things can be lost unaccountably.

The Thunder

Yeah, very tough Shan...here's my story, when I was a freshman in college, one of my running buddies (a Jr. in High School) died at his practice one afternoon. I was at my college practice not far away and saw the ambulance parked at their practice area. Tough times, no one had a clue how serious things were....we just thought he passed out and waited hours at the hospital to hear that he was okay...only to finally hear that he had passed on. He was a great kid, one of those people you never saw w/out a smile on his face. This was over 13 years ago (wow, doesn't seem that long) and I still think of him when I run often. I imagine he's still running beside me at some races, and it gives me strength. Try to remember the smiles and the good times, and know that your friend is where he is suppposed to be.

1 Hip and 2 Hamstring reconstructions later…

Oh Mighty Wing