Half Marathon Trainers

HMT - January 2012 (Read 501 times)

Petco Run/Walk/Wag 5k

Dang, where do I start from last week? Started the income tax season and no time during weak to post/comment:

@Redrunner: I've been using the RA LHR forum since late 2009 and was making good pace improves even tho using a MAF which is to high for me with all the meds I am on. Body and brain had a lot of objections in 2011 as I mentioned, so time to reset. Will keep this forum posted.

@Lake & Veg - great job on your respective races. Speedsters compared to me!

@MattJ - sympathy wrt new job. I've established more than one technical support org in my days, can swing either way as to fun or pain. Good luck on the fun part. As to Achilles, I didn't use stretches last year, used ice, biofreeze and rest. Lots of slow walking between any attempts at running. All of it on level ground and some in shoes to reduce stress on the Achilles.

As to pacers - I can't contribute, have never used one. They don't have them slow enough for me in most races. My pb being 2:55. hope to improve it at the 3M half in two weeks - its a mostly rolling hills, down hill point to point course.

Did first MAF test using new measured MAF of 95 this morning. Felt good. 29F, pre-dawn at the start using HS track, wore my VFF Sprints. 1.75mi w/u, 3 MAF mi; .5 mi c/d. Could have done more MAF miles but nature call forced use of a foul porta potty near the track. Spent 1:24hrs on feet. Was planning on a lap or two in socks which I had with me, but after the bio break was to upset to think about that.

Am thinking about tomorrows long run. Might find some level ground, carry hydration and shoot for 3hrs part of it BF if ground is warm or in socks if cold. Have gotten 5.7 mi on one pair of socks w/no holes so far. Guess form has improved.

bob e v
    2014 goals: keep on running! Is there anything more than that?

Complete the last 3 races in the Austin Distance Challenge, Rogue 30k, 3M Half, Austin Full