Half Marathon Trainers

August (Read 35 times)

ashleyww

Zelanie - Congrats on the 8.5 miles and good luck with double digits!  I am a little worried about balancing training with the start of the school year too.  I am a teacher but this will be my first year running while starting back with the craziness.  Any advice?

I did my long run (9 miles) this morning since I am not sure I will be able to this weekend.  It was my first time running for more than 2 hours and it went much better than my 8 mile run on Saturday so I was very thankful for that.  I step back this week, but I am a getting nervous about the double digit run the week after.  I know it is only a mile more than I have done, but it is longer than I've ever run (although this being my first half, each long run since 6 had been my longest ever).

Zelanie

Ashley- I remember worrying about fitting my training around the start of the school year last year, but looking back, I don't know that it was a big deal.  I just had to plan my runs at the start of the week.  First I'd find the days that I couldn't run at all, and then I just had to figure out a way to make the other ones work.  Hopefully I can do the same this year.

That's awesome that you're over 2 hours for your LR!  That's supposedly the "magic" number according to the Running Wizard folks. Smile  I ran my first 10-miler last December, and it was harder than it needed to be.  10 miles is a long time to worry about not being able to run 10 miles, you know? Smile  I took it extra slow because I was worried about making the distance, but because of that I ended up with a lot more "time on my feet" than I was used to.  The next time I ran 10, I just told myself I was out for 8-10 and ran at my usual LR pace and it was fine.

an amazing likeness

Good to read about positive stuff happening on your injuries....Zelanie and Hog4life. Looks like you're both getting back to building base miles and sounding somewhat hopeful. Cool!