Mental Toughness (Read 1114 times)

I'm a sophomore girl in high school and for track I am running the 2 mile. I run about 30mpw, some easy with speed workouts/hills. My best time so far is 14:30, but I know that I can do better - I'm not as tired as I should be at the end. I run better at practice than in meets, so I think my problem is with mental toughness. Is there anything that you tell yourself when your racing that helps you run faster?

I ran the 2 mile in HS. It was my favorite race. Pick a faster time (ie 14:15 or maybe even 14:00) and figure out the splits and then just run it lap by lap focusing only on making that lap split. Don't worry about other runners, just run your splits. I always had a split plan for my 2 mile races. Effort wise, if you get to the 1 mile and are almost wondering how you will finish, that is how you should feel. Focusing on splits is one way of getting your mind off the fact that you are hurtin. Running fast hurts and it will take practice to get to where you can ignore how it feels and keep going or even go faster.
      Favorite quote: Stop your crying you little girl! 2011: Mt Washington, Washington Trails, Peaks Island, Pikes Peak.
      rlemert