Sub-90 Minutes for the Half Marathon (2011) (Read 6744 times)

jules2

I'm planning on my first ever half marathon in late August.  I just started training, and really am not sure what my goals will be.  1:30 is pretty darn fast though right?  I'll have to see where I'm at in June and re-assess.  Sub 90 would be great though... I need to follow this thread.

Tief,

Just to bring this forum back from the world of hamsters and innuendo, if you've never run a half before I'd suggest you do some slow runs of say 15 miles just so when you are on the start line you are confident you can run the distance.

To do a sub 1:30:00 in your first half depends on a lot of things but I managed 1:29:25 in the second ever half I ran yet at the time I was over 50 years old  and I have never beaten it since.

If you want help you need to make your log public.

Old age is when you move from illegal to prescribed drugs.

Tiefsa

I think I made my log public now.  You can see my training now.  I just started in mid April.

I think I made my log public now.  You can see my training now.  I just started in mid April.

I haven’t run a half in over 10 years. That, and I don’t know much about running, except for my own experiences and what I read on RA. But, you made your log public, and are looking for feedback, and it's Friday and I'm about to go on vacation, and the internets are a free-for-all, so I’ll provide some…(and maybe if I do someone who knows something will correct it and actually tell you something useful).