Am I on the right track? A few newbie pointers needed please! (Read 1348 times)

Howdy Folks I’m pretty new to running and boy am I glad that I found these forums! I’ve got a few newbie questions and for those who understandably don’t want my life story feel free to skip to the bottom of this post! Big grin For those who do……here’s a bit of background: I am 32, 6’ 1” and 217lbs. I have played Rugby since I was 9 years old but when my kids (2yrs & 3yrs) were born I just couldn’t justify the time away from home that Rugby was taking, so I started running about a year ago. Things were going OK. I trained for the “Hottest Half” in Dallas in August and ran (most of) it, in the summer heat in 2:12:57. Pretty happy! I came off the back end of that wanting to beat 2 hours and entered the White Rock half for December. Around September time I noticed that my right hip was stiff about 6 hours after running. No big deal, I thought, and I kept training. HTFU, I believe, is the term used round here! Training went well, my hip kept hurting after running, but not while running and when I completed 12 miles in 1:44:20 two weeks before the race I thought I was on to a sure thing. Race day sucked. Windy and much hillier than I had trained for and I ran (still walked a bit) a 2:07:07 – I was gutted. Sad Also time to face facts about my hip. Pretty much the only time it did not hurt was when I was running. Two short runs in the week following that half and I had to go to the doc. He diagnosed an SI (??) injury and sent me for physiotherapy…. No running for 12 weeks. The Physio folks set me straight on a few things… I was a bad trainee: When I had been training I was a; fall out of bed, into my shoes and hit the pavement at training pace, round the block, back home and hit the shower type of person: No stretch, no warm up, no cool down, no stretch! Black eye I also did nothing else other than run. No core exercises, no lifting, no cross training, nothing other than run. I’ve started runn