How long did it take you? (Read 1411 times)

jEfFgObLuE

I've got a fever...

I've been running for 20 years and still haven't run one (although I once got lost on a training run and ran nearly 22 miles). Years ago, I saw that Carlos Lopes of Portugal won the '84 Olympic marathon and set the marathon world record in '85 at age 37-38. This convinced me that I had many good years of long distance running ahead of me. Now that I'm 37, I'm considering a marathon late this year or next. Or whenever. Your question is a good one. A lot of people rush into doing the marathon, so whatever your choice is be sure you're ready. The ideal time different for every person, but no matter what, be sure that you respect the distance. Train for it, and train well. A marathon is not to be done lightly, especially by a new runner. Build up slowly, and do it when you feel ready. In the meantime, get that first 5k under your belt, run some more 5ks, try some 10ks, 15ks, and half-marathons. You may find you really like a particular distance more than others. When in peak shape, I'm best suited for 800m~1mi races, but you don't see many of those, so I focus mainly on 5k and 10k races. Run easy, build up slowly, and go from there.

On your deathbed, you won't wish that you'd spent more time at the office.  But you will wish that you'd spent more time running.  Because if you had, you wouldn't be on your deathbed.

Scout7

18 months. i wish i'd waited a lot longer got faster at the shorter distances and built some serious base. there might have been a chance of me enjoying it instead of hating pretty much every second of both the long runs and the race. i very nearly quit running entirely after that experience. however, i do understand the pull to run further and further.
        JakeKnight