Running a 10K 8 Days before a Half-Marathon (Read 589 times)

Rundadrun27

There is a 10K race that I am interested in running 8 days before the Half-Marathon that I am registered for. I would like to race in it, but I am worried that it will affect me for my Half-Marathon 8 days later. There is also a 5K division which I ran last year, but I would like to run the 10K. Can I run the 10K or register for the 5K to save myself for the Half-Marathon?

Half Fanatic #846

I'm no expert, but personally I would run the 10K at about my half marathon pace - using it for practice - a training run. If I raced the 10K that might not be a good idea, but it is 8 days out. What about your taper?? Smile How important is the 10K? With my luck recently, if I raced the 5K "to be safe", I'd probably pull a hammy or something!

"I don't always roll a joint, but when I do, it's usually my ankle" - unk.         "Frankly autocorrect, I'm getting a bit tired of your shirt".                  I ran half my last race on my left foot!                                  

Rundadrun27

How important is the 10K? With my luck recently, if I raced the 5K "to be safe", I'd probably pull a hammy or something!
        The 10K is not really important to me. I'm really focused on the HM. It looks like your luck is as good as mine.Wink.
        Slo

Based on your log I don't think there is any problem doing both. It dosen't appear that you would be in any danger of imposing on your Half Mary Finishing time. Probably just the opposite. It'll more than likely be beneficial. Keep doing what your doing, ramping up your mileage, getting a good solid and easy "long"(er) run in once a week and you'll finish with respectable times in both races.
            Go for it! I'd run it as a 10k race and you'll know exactly what kind of shape your in for half. Just keep your runs between the races fairly easy so you recover in time for the half. Good luck!

SMART Approach