Blood donation (Read 966 times)

For those who have donated blood- how long before you feel back to normal. It's been a few weeks for me and I have been experiencing less stamina. Any experience with this? Just curious.

I took a couple of easy days after donating, but felt fine when I finished so I probably didn't need to.

Run to Win
      25 Marathons, 17 Ultras, 16 States (Full List)

Gotta TRI

I was going to give blood the other day until I found out it would take 6 weeks to recover the red blood cells lost through donation. Considering this is what carries the oxygen through your body if you arer running "a pint low" then your running on that much lees O2. Or something to that effect. I'm not a doctor, nor do I play one on tv. I'm sure if you googled the subject you'd get a much better explaination.
        2010 Dec. California International Marathon 2011 Jan. Disney Marathon

A Saucy Wench

my dh takes a little extra iron after blood donation for a few days and says it seems to cut the recovery time about in half. Not a lot extra..on a normal day he takes a basic multivitamin which is 18 mg and he would take my prenatal instead which was 27mg. But I dont know if it really helps.

I have become Death, the destroyer of electronic gadgets

"When I got too tired to run anymore I just pretended I wasnt tired and kept running anyway" - dd, age 7

Lane

If you drink a lot, then you'll be back before you know it. I take a day off after donating, and then feel sluggish for a day, but after that, I feel as good as new.
              I started a similar thread a while back, Running after blood donation? and got some good feedback. I felt a bit sluggish for a run or two, but fine after that. Hope you're feeling 100% soon.

E.J.
              Greater Lowell Road Runners
              Cry havoc and let slip the dawgs of war!