Beginners and Beyond

Saturdailies: The Winter Games (Read 39 times)

LRB

Probably. But my 17yo DD saw it last night, and said it was tremendous, and thought it was unfortunate that a lot of people won't see it because, well, it's a Lego movie. It got a 96% on Rotten Tomatoes, so there must be something to it.

Yep, that is my go to site for all things movies.  They are not however, always inline with what I think, I Frankenstein and 47 Ronin come to mind, both of which were rated poorly but I liked, and American Hustle which was rated highly and I could not get out of the theater fast enough.

But generally speaking, it is a good site for reference.

Zelanie

Lily- I don't know, this is my first time through the selection process!  Their grades are part of it.  This weekend, we're scoring their essay questions from their application.  Then next week, we meet and go over the rest of their application (transcript, recommendations, etc.). Then they have to do interviews too.   Needless to say, I don't get to score DD's essays.   Hopefully she makes it in, though, because otherwise the whole trip is off!  There's about 45 applications, I think, for 25 spots, so competitive but not too terrible.

Oski- I think you need Phil's surgeon.  Sorry to hear that you need surgery, but at least you have some answers now!

D- Glad you're home!

4 recovery miles for me today.  It was a really nice 50-degree rain.  But the path flooded between when I left and when I got home.  Good thing it wasn't a long run!

StepbyStep-SH

Damaris - Glad you are home and resting, but so sorry to hear about your cousin.
        Marjorie - What a fantastic send-off for that young man!