Toronto and Beyond

Where do you buy your shoes? (Read 204 times)

Hey everyone. I am fairly new to the GTA and somewhat lacking in people skills so I do not get much chance to mix with the local running community. I travel back and forth to the U.S. quite frequently and have noticed a tremendous difference in shoe prices between the U.S. and Toronto. Seriously. Huge difference. There was always some difference but it wasn't enough that I minded paying an extra ten bucks or so and I usually purchased all of my shoes up here. The last six months however.... wow. Here's what I mean. I run Brooks Glycerines and the 6's retail for 149.99 up here. At today's Canadian dollar that converts to 126.99US. The conversion has varied between 123.99US and 129.99US. I don't know the city well enough to dig up bargains everywhere. I mainly just shop the Running Room or Sporting Life and that price is consistent with both stores. I was in Tampa recently and saw the same shoes ( with the yellow and black color scheme... why is only the green available in Toronto?) at Dick's for 99.95US. I also saw them in Baltimore for 95.95US. With tax that puts them at around 100.00US, or 118.95CAN. If you figure that Toronto price after the higher Canadian taxes ( which I don't mind paying... you get your money's worth for your taxes in Canada ) I would actually be paying an extra $60 or $70 for a pair of shoes. That's nearly 50%!!! I get that most things are a bit more expensive here, but it's usually 5% to 10%, not 50%. Well, except for chicken. You can buy a whole chicken in the U.S. for 2.00 and here they are 8.00. What's up with that? Sorry, got sidetracked. Long story short I am thinking that I must be missing something. Is everyone really paying that much extra for shoes or is there some shop here that I haven't heard about?
    And who am I anyway?
    Just another fat jogger, evidently.

Go Pre!