Masters Running

How did you BQ? (Read 742 times)

Beginner all over again

I'm new to exercise, just passing my one-year mark here of walking/jogging, after being sedentary for a decade.

Frankly, I'm happier now to have exercised for 12 months straight for the first time than if I were to BQ, but if I ever BQ, that will be my second happiest Exercise Moment

I'm taking the next 12 months to basebuild and ramp up for my First marathon "to finish"

I'm wondering, how long were you running before you qualified? months? years?

How many marathons and/or halfs had you run before then?

Did anyone start running in their 40s and go on to BQ ?

Thanks for sharing Your Story !

Marathon Maniac #957

Frances – in my 30’s I ran just a little bit – 1-2 miles, 3 times a week, but when I was approaching 40 I began running more – 20-25 miles/week, sort of as a way to help me cope with that milestone. 

I ran my first HM at 41, my first marathon at 42, but the course for my first marathon was changed at the last minute due to flooding, and ended up being measured short.  Drat!  Now I was going to have to do another one!  So I ran another marathon that fall and qualified for Boston at that one.  That was in 2007.  I’ve now run 8 marathons and one ultra (50K), with marathon times ranging from 3:48 to 4:36, qualifying for Boston at 3 of the 8 that I’ve run.

And I am by no means a fast runner, never was fast when I was younger, never ran track.  I am fairly graceless, a galumpher if there ever was one.  But I am a hard worker, and very persistent.  And stubborn.

Life is a headlong rush into the unknown. We can hunker down and hope nothing hits us or we can stand tall, lean into the wind and say, "Bring it on, darlin', and don't be stingy with the jalapenos."

King of PhotoShop