Masters Running

Crewing for Graveyard 100 (Read 29 times)

TriBee2010

Hi all,

I'm crewing for my friend next weekend at the Graveyard 100. It will be her second attempt at the 100 mile distance. (First time around she had a DNF at mile 90). We've got a gang of five to crew, with me and two others pacing her on the back half.

It's my first time crewing and I'm looking for any suggestions. My friend says she will have everything planned out (we're meeting later today), but I was wondering if I should also pack an "emergency bag" in the crew car of stuff she might need but forgets, or loses, or whatever.

On pacing, what do you think works best? Beside or ahead of the runner?

Also, for you ultra runners out there, what has picked you up when you hit that dark spot? Something funny? Encouragement? From what I've read about the race, it gets pretty rough between miles 63-88 or so.

Thanks!

I'm crewing for my friend next weekend at the Graveyard 100.  Crewing is incredibly fun!  I'll be crewing for my friend, Kate, at Western States 100 in June.

It's my first time crewing and I'm looking for any suggestions. My friend says she will have everything planned out (we're meeting later today), but I was wondering if I should also pack an "emergency bag" in the crew car of stuff she might need but forgets, or loses, or whatever.

Your friend should have worked most everything out of what she needs, including drop bags for those stations where no crew is allowed.  Where you can get to her, if you have to walk, a couple of backpacks work really well.  One for food stuffs, electrolyte replacements, etc., and one for clothing, extra shoes, socks, blister kits, etc.

When at the aid stations, have everything ready and out in the open for her for when she arrives so she can get in and out ASAP.