Masters Running

Monday, Aug 8 (Read 601 times)

King of PhotoShop

Here is the problem editors face.  Authors think it is their job to convince the editor to publish their work.  They then think it is the outlet's job to get somebody to read it.  Nope.  People only read material that is interesting.  It is the editor's job to find work that is interesting and publish it.  Typically, authors are asked for changes in the hopes of taking a piece, making it more interesting, and with the hope this then draws in more readers.

I absolutely agree.  When he sent us the first "scolding" email about our headlines, I took it very seriously, acknowledged to him that some of mine were pretty awful, and vowed to work on this area. I write for a living, so I knew he had made a great point.  It's only when he went back in and messed with stuff that was already up and posted that I was annoyed.

Bill, I may use that video link in my post on Thursday.  Spareribs

evanflein

Nice, Mary! Yes, that might become a new lifestyle for you. 

Great blog post, Spareribs! I love how you called him out in the article. And that video Breger posted is perfect. (we used to have a cat that loved cantaloupe.)

Well done on the party, Mariposai! And I bet nobody minded the floors at all. 

Ran from home to the gym yesterday, 11.1 miles, and it was another nice tempo effort with negative split. After Saturday's half marathon I wasn't sure how my legs would feel, but I guess I didn't push the race hard enough. I felt fine. Sure was chilly though! 48° and drizzle at the start, not much warmer but the rain stopped by the end. Wish I could send some of this weather to some of you.... I've had enough and would love to have some summer before the leaves turn! (Gym day today)

Dave59

August 8th falls on a Monday again in 2016.  Mark your calendar now so this doesn't happen again.

One of my cats is pacing on my desk.  Apparently saw my crack about the cat with the flat face and didn't appreciate it.