Masters Running

Master Runners Introductions! (Read 228 times)

TammyinGP

I'll get the thread started. If you posted your intro in yesterday's daily, please just copy/paste it here if you'd like.  And then others can add an intro here. It'll be nice to re-read the ones from friends we've all known a long time, and a great place for new master runners to get familiar with who we are (or maybe scare them away before they even come out of lurk mode??!) 

Someone can pin this to the top right? Holly?

Tammy

I'm Karen from the Nashville area.  I've been running for about 40 years.  Been here on RA since 2009- mainly in the Swamp and the women's "secret" forum called the LLR, but I pissed off the Queen of that group and got banned.  I have 2 runner/triathlete grown kids (one is on RA- kmays- and 2 old Golden Retrievers and 4 cats.   I'm a senior lawyer/VP for a large retail company and I love my job.

I've been in Tennessee for 10 1/2 years and was in Dallas for almost 30 years before that.  My husband and I met as runners in Dallas. He still runs but mainly cycles.

I've run about 40 marathons with a PR of 3:08.  I've run 2 ultras (50 miles and 100K) back in the day.   I "streak" and my current streak is 650 days of running at least a mile a day.  I'm averaging about 5 miles a day.  Streaking is not the smartest thing, and you have to know when to let it go (eye surgery, bad injury, international travel), but somehow it keeps me sane.

I am a brand ambassador for Oiselle and love their stuff.  Back in the day I had a "real" sponsorship by the Texas Rangers baseball team.  They made a sports drink called RangerAid and it was terrible.   I never quit my day job.

Out there running since dinosaurs roamed the earth

pfriese