Trailer Trash

one tough trip- snowshoe across the Bob Marshall (Read 17 times)

mtwarden

running under the BigSky

I've done a lot of tough trips in my day, this one takes the cake   Tom and I have been talking about doing this for a couple of years and this year we decided to give it a go.  100-ish miles across the Bob Marshall and Great Bear Wilderness's- on snowshoes.  Tom decided to bring his dog, Pepper; I let Tiny Elvis set this one out (DW wouldn't even let me consider it!).

We were hoping for a six day finish.  The shuttling was a pain as it was several hours of driving from the start to the finish; we didn't get started until noon the first day.  Fortunately it was pretty clear sailing and never had to don snowshoes.

The next day went pretty smooth as well, we hit snow, but it was firm enough to travel without snowshoes.  Later in the day, snow got softer and we had to don snowshoes.

The next day we were on snowshoes the entire day.  Occasionally decent snow, but a lot of postholing and cussing.

As we got closer to Sun River Pass, things turned worse.  Snow was tough, but we started to encounter a lot of downed timber.  Multipole times our snowshoes would get tangled in a downed tree underneath the snow.  A couple of times we had to remove our foot from the snowshoe and literally dig it out! 

Navigation was getting tougher as well, no sign of the trail under the deep snow whatsoever.  Eventually we made it to the pass and over the Continental Divide into the very upper reaches of the Middle Fork of the Flathead.

The next day was rougher yet.  We starting post holing right off the bat and our progress slowed to a crawl.  Still plenty of downed timber to contend with as well.

We eventually made it to the upper Middle Fork.  Didn't even take off my snowshoes.  With as many fords as we've had (and many more to come)- not worth the time and your feet are totally soaked all day anyways.