Feuling for the non-fueler (Read 551 times)

Frank4

I am an avid reader of this site, though I rarely post. However, I'd like some opinions on how to approach an upcoming goal race. I am running the Green Bay marathon on 5/17. I have been running steady 50-60 mile weeks for the past several months. Prior to that, my mileage was far more sporadic and, as a result, race times were not what they could have been. My goal for the marathon is to BQ, which is 3:15 for me. A couple of weeks back, I ran a 1:28 half. My question concerns fueling. During training runs, I never take any fuel. Even on long runs (up to 21 miles during this cycle), I don't take anything. During my recent half marathon PR, I didn't take any fuel, and was fine with it. However, in the few marathons that I have run, I think it has cost me in the later stages as I just ran out of gas. I realize it's a bit late in the game to significantly alter my training methods as far as fueling goes, and expect that to improve my race result too much. However, any suggestions on how to better prepare for the later stages of my upcoming race would be appreciated. Thanks.
    DoppleBock

I think of fuel 2 ways 1) calories 2) hydration Its possible to run a great race without taking in calories, but very difficult without proper hydration - A loss of even 3% of body weight from dehydration can drop 10% in performance and it just gets worse from there. I drink their sports drink - Gatorade Endurance and with 18 fluid stations its pretty easy to take in enough liquid - Of course your body can only absorb so much, so its also easy to take in too much liquid. I also eat gels - But I train with them - 4-5 per marathon. I have run marathons on water only and been fine. How do you plan your nutrition the 3 days before the race ? Did you do the BLS 1/2? Oshkosh? I will be at Green Bay also -

Long dead ... But my stench lingers !

Frank4