first HM advice (especially re pace teams) (Read 386 times)

Ringmaster

I am training for my first half-marathon next month. I started running again last year. (I was a sprinter in high school--my best event then was the 100m). I ran my first 5K in December in 26:20 and my first 10K later that month in 59:15. I run 5 or 6 mi 4x a week. My long run New Year's Day was 10mi; I ran just over the 13.1 today in 2:07. All that history to ask for all the advice you can pour on me as I get ready for my first HM! I'll take anything you have to give, including what I should eat before the race (it starts at 6, and I usually don't eat anything before I head out, not even today), how to best hydrate, when to plan on arriving at the race site, etc. I am also wondering, how do pace teams work? I got a Garmin 205 for Christmas and I love it, though I'm still learning all its ins and outs, and would certainly love any "techie" advice. It's amazing how much I don't know! Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge and experience with me!

Let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. (Heb. 12:1b)
    Mile by Mile

JakeKnight