Cold weather gear (Read 1209 times)

runtolive

Need some suggestions for cold weather (less than 25 F) running tights/pants.

I'm a newbie -- running only 2 years, 20 miles/wk.  This is the first week I've had to run on the treadmill since March and I hate it.  Yes, I have TV and all the amenities, but running inside is just boring as hell.   I need to find some warmer clothing so I can get outside at least once/wk so I don't lose the mileage.  Snow, rain, cooler weather doesn't usually bother me, but less than 25F with a slight wind chill (or worse) is not fun when the legs start aching.

I currently have "cold gear" compression tights -- all the way to the ankles -- and wear shorts over them (mostly b/c I'm not a size 4) Big grin, but this is not warm enough.  I have sweat-wicking hats, gloves, mock Ts, etc...so the only thing that gets cold is my thighs.

Can you all make some suggestions?  Thanks.

Prince of Fatness

Maybe some wicking compression shorts under the tights.  Layers are key and that would be another layer.

Not at it at all. 

This reminds me. I'm no wimp when it comes to the cold. I'm outside pretty much no matter what and not over-dressed. But I'm curious about something. 

I always see guys running/jogging half naked when the temps are in the 20s. Short shorts, racing singlet, maybe a sweatband around their head. Do they have some physiological abnormality that allows/requires they run half naked in the cold? I see this a lot at races around here too in the winter months. Does their engine just run a little hot or are they just trying to be a badass? Ya know, like the drunken shirtless fools at Ralph Wilson stadium?

</threadjack>