Starting running again (Read 55 times)

I'm turning 23 in May. I used to be a semi- decent runner. Never the best, but my last year in high school I pulled off a 19:30 5K. I was, without a doubt, among the slowest on the team, but I did it because I liked it. It felt good to get out there and pound the pavement as a means of stress relief in what was otherwise an overwhelming time of life.

Sadly when I got to college my priorities changed...my life changed. First I put on the standard freshman 15. Ok, whatever. Then I started lifting to improve confidence and feel stronger (discovered quickly the runner guys are never the "sexiest" at the bars or frat meets.)

But then....I sunk into that lil' sweet spot where you're not sure if you're tired or just lazy, ate too much crap, smoked too much pot, drank too much and once I dropped out and faced the stressful working world I even smoked cigs for a year to help both stave psychological stress and the effects of the 20+ year old metabolic drop. (Bad, bad idea - don't do it. Luckily I vape now but I don't even wanna do that forever).

Long story short, I'm not overweight, never was, I'm skinny-ish but it's definitely not the same skinny it used to be, more of a skinnyfat that has the strain of repeated weight gain and loss without exercise painfully evident in how I move, how I feel and my clothes fit.

Last time I ran a decent distance was a half marathon at Xmas 2013 / New year 2014 (1:45:00, judge me).

If I start running again - NOW - knowing what I know, and stay consistent, how much am I going to be up against the forces of time and crappy lifestyle choices? Am I still young enough that I could rock it again and even supercede previous performance? I've smoked like 200 packs of cigs at most, never been overweight as I mentioned and I've read about LIFETIME smokers who turned their lives around.

Thoughts and words of wisdom to offer? Thanks guys!!!

if you're tired of starting over then stop giving up!