Holy Cow - shoes are evil? (Read 1291 times)

Scout7

Link went to nowhere.
    Try it now.
    C-R

Yup. Read that a while back. Seems to hit the right spot - training, training, training.

"He conquers who endures" - Persius
      "Every workout should have a purpose. Every purpose should link back to achieving a training objective." - Spaniel

http://ncstake.blogspot.com/

Ed4

Barefoot and happy

I've been doing much of my running barefoot for the past nine months. It has been a huge improvement. I used to have sore knees and IT band issues, which went away entirely when I stopped using normal running shoes.
        Modern homo sapien's feet have not evolved or were not designed to run long distances on asphalt and concrete.
        Everyone aways just assumes this, but have you ever actually tried it? Go run barefoot through a city, on concrete sidewalks. Then try running barefoot in the woods, on a natural surface. The city is much, much easier. Sidewalks are very nice for barefoot running. The reason for this is that the hardness of the surface doesn't matter much at all. When you're running in your natural form, your calves and feet are acting like huge shock absorbers. What's difficult is surfaces that are very sharp and uneven. Natural trails with rocks and thorns are much, much more challenging that city streets. Give your ancestors a little credit! They weren't always hunting mammoths on nicely manicured golf courses.
        Wearing properly fitted shoes seems to do the trick for most people.