2018 3:20 (and beyond) (Read 582 times)

runethechamp

Keen - I keep reminding myself I have a long way to go before October. Heck, when I trained for my first marathon the "serious" part of my program lasted for 11 weeks and I still have more than that to go now . Goal for the weekend is 1:32:56.

Oregon - Thanks! Racing in 90 degrees sounds absolutely brutal! My m-pace is supposed to be the Jack Daniels calculated m-pace based on my HM from February, which always is aggressive, and it comes out at 7:29. But, once I started training I realized that I was running all the workouts on the fast side without killing myself, so I adjusted all the paces a bit faster and they actually align very well with my HM goal for next weekend. In a perfect world this m-pace also lines up with the pace I can run in October, even though this is faster than my official goal (3:15 vs 3:20). It all depends on how my training goes. I can't run by feel with the likes of DW, but I know pretty much exactly where my HR needs to be at different stages of a full marathon to last all the way in. So eventually I will see where my HR is in training sessions to get a feel for whether the pace will be sustainable or not for the full distance. Yesterday the pace was most definitely not sustainable for 26 miles but I'm hoping the needle will move enough in the right direction over the next weeks and months to get there.

5k: 20:32 (1/17)  |  HM: 1:34:37 (2/18)  |  FM: 3:31:37 (3/18)

Getting back into it

rlk_117

Resident Millennial

The Carr fire was caused by a private vehicle (pickup truck) towing something, metal things hanging from vehicle in improper way, sparks flew, caught fire. People have been killed, millions have been negatively impacted. (We were in Sonoma County for the past ~24hr, 200+ miles from Redding - air quality bad and smelled like fire). Every single car trip has a cost that the rest of society incurs - this one has been massive.