Sub 1:30 half marathon in 2017 (Read 323 times)

Blair congrats on your half. Ive never done 400s and Im no expert but 800s and 1000s are more reliable at predicting 5k race times. 5 x 1000s with 2 min jog rest between is pretty damn tough but gives a good 5k race prediction. A 5k is still long enough that you need a good aerobic system to run a good time.

Jmac ha you are right of course. I was going to do a 10k funrun next saturday but maybe I wont hehe. Its weird I like training and been fit but dont like the pressure of a looming race. For example I just went out for an easy run and halfway through decided to go fast and ran a sub 19 5k. I kinda like that impromptu way of doing it under my control. One of the local guys here is doing NYC marathon. Hes 50 and beat me in that last 10k I did. He ran 38 something. He mentioned he was doing NYC with a goal of 2.48 and didnt seem to think it was a hard course. I kept my mouth shut as i didnt want to be negative but I know it can be a toughish course. I reckon he will finish in a dead heat with you for a 2.55 

Arvind congrats to you too.

Mark nearly game time. I have fond memories of the Auckland Marathon. I loved the course and atmosphere. You will go sub 3 and not be in the pain cave no problem !

Ive been following the thread on the subject of our sub 1.30 and the sub 3 threads pushing back other topics on the most recent list. I hope that anyone thinking of running a half can come on here and get friendly helpful advice.

It is so much easier to find here rather than in a group thread.

55+ PBs 5k 18:36 June 3rd TT

" If you don't use it you lose it,  but if you use it, it wears out.

Somewhere in between is about right "      

Arvind Balaraman

My Training last week. The next 3 weeks will be tapering for my Marathon

Day Miles Pace Description
      Mon 11.02 8:17 Easy 11
            Bootcamp 45 min
      Tue     Foam Rolling 20 min
            Spin Class 35 min
        5 8:33 Treadmill running