Goal of sub 20 5k (Read 13664 times)

mikeymike

You can be running SO much faster if you could work up to some 200-mile months and string them together for a while. You'll wonder what the big deal about breaking 20 was. I'm not kidding.
    I could not agree more.

Runners run

Maffetone

Fwiw, when I started training again 3 years ago I ran almost nothing but 5k's the first year. I faded in about 15 consecutive races before it finally stopped happening. This is no exaggeration. I found that it took steady mileage for more than 2 years before things started getting really good although there was definite improvement after a year. It was the same way 20 years ago. It took 2-3 years of solid training after coming back from an extened lull to get in top shape. That's where I think a lot of runners go wrong. They run really low miles for months at a time, then pick it up for a few to get ready for a marathon. After it's over they drop back down. The truth is that it takes steady miles for months and months to really hit your stride, even in short races. Michigan, I remember reading were you said that you had a really big base to draw on. While it's true that you have improved a lot in that regard, you really are just getting started. You can be running SO much faster if you could work up to some 200-mile months and string them together for a while. You'll wonder what the big deal about breaking 20 was. I'm not kidding. It was less than 2 years ago that I ran 20:34, 20:28, 20:07, 20:18 over a string of 4 consecutive races, and I was doing decent training too. Now I'm on verge of breaking into 18's. It takes time. And I thought I was too old to see that kind of improvement. If it can happen for an old man like me, just think what you guys can do!