dumb newbie marathon question (Read 791 times)

So pittsburgh is may 3rd, and my friend just told me that there is a 5/10k race in my town back home this saturday. She's doing it and wants me to do it...opinions? Smile That would leave me a whole week to get over either the 5 or 10k... thanks
    Slow Runner

You doing the 5 or 10K? Either way you will be fine....Go for it!!!!
        Thanks slow runner Smile I'm probably doing the 10k, I like that distance way better than 5k's heh.
        celiacChris

3Days4Cure

Thanks slow runner Smile I'm probably doing the 10k, I like that distance way better than 5k's heh.
          I assume you are doing the full--if its the half, ignore what I am about to say. I'm a beginner too, so also feel free to ignore. Think about how well you normally recover from races. This is the determining factor. If you think you can carefully taper and be fully rested for May 3, go for it. If you think you can hold back and "race" easy enough to be recovered, go for it. If not, think carefully before derailing the training for a 10k. Just my <$0.01 worth.>

Chris
          PRs: 27:26 5k/ 49:52 5mi/ 58:17 10k/ 2:09:24 half/ 5:13:17 Full

Post-Bipolar PRs: 38:35 5k/ 1:09:34 8k/ 1:09:39 5mi/ 1:33:03 10k/ 3:20:40 Half

2022 Goals

Back to 10k

I wouldn't do a race of any distance only a week before a marathon. A 5k two weeks out maybe...a 10k one week out, no.