Marathon Training Question (Read 886 times)

Member Since 2008

I have decided to do a marathon this May (Colorado Marathon) and instead of following an eighteen week schedule, I am doing an eleven week schedule. I ran a long run of fourteen miles the other day and felt great. My question is, I have a seven mile run scheduled on friday (a day before my next long run of fifteen miles) and I have to work that day. Would I get the same benefit if I ran three and a half miles before work and three and a half miles after work or should I just do it all before or after work?
      Im no expert here, and can only base my thoughts on things that I have read.........and YES, I think so. Jeff Galloway will tell you that the only run you shouldnt consider splitting would be the long Sunday run.. Since your keeping your long run in tact, I personally believe you will be just fine...... Also...its only one run, so i wouldnt sweat it all that much to begin with,...

Champions are made when no one is watching

xor

This assumes that the 7 miler is one of the "get in the miles" easy runs. You aren't trying to split one of the 'key workouts'. So... you will not get the same exact thing by splitting an easy 7 miler... but it is still goodness. If that's what it takes to get in your miles for the day, have at it. Me? The later I push my run into the day, the more likely that real life will poke me and I'll have to skip. I'm great at getting my morning workout in... less so about the afternoon/evening ones. So for me, I try to get my key workouts and all the miles I can done early on. But everyone is different. Whatever it takes to get the miles.

The way doubling up had been explained to me in regards to this: It's better to not split it evenly, but instead divide it up. Maybe do 2 and 5 or 3 and 4...but, I'd wait for an authority to show up...
          JimR