My first 5k - of this century!! (Read 486 times)

Chris UK

Louth Run for Life 5k – 6th July 2008 This is a charity run in my hometown in aid of Cancer Research UK and is my first race since starting running 2 years ago. My last race was in the last century – about 30 years ago! No timing chips or anything but there was a timing gantry over the finish line. Being a charity event all types were taking part from serious runners through to walkers. Separate races for children under 12 (1k) and 5k for the ladies and men. Over 900 took part – many of those in the ladies race. The weather forecast was not good with high winds and heavy showers but the day dawned dry and didn’t seem quite so bad as predicted. After the first two races it was time for the men to go and being a novice I set myself in the middle of the pack for the start. Away we go and the boy racers from the front zoom away through the narrow streets. It is a bit of a scrum for the first quarter mile – me passing some and others passing me but as we head out of town it settles down – I’m not aware of anyone passing me after this stage. My breathing is heavier than at anytime since I started running again but I am able to maintain my pace. As we drop down a short incline I begin to pick one or two people off and seem to be able to maintain my increased pace. We are now onto a narrow footpath and it is difficult to pass here but soon we enter a park and a winding path through a picturesque glacial valley. It certainly is a beautiful place but today I am hardly aware of my surroundings – I am solely concentrating on my breathing and the runners ahead of me. Through the park I continue to pass a few more runners and then suddenly we are through and back onto roads again. From here there is quite a long drag of an incline – something that I was aware of and not particularly looking forward to. However I am still maintaining pace and still passing the occasional runner who is running out of steam. One of them ask