Critique Me (Read 333 times)

AMKinCO

Hi RA -

If you look at my log, you'll see I am truly a "long-time lurker, first time poster"

After reading the stellar advice that is always being thrown around, I could basically reply to my own post and say what I expect others to tell me.  But...help a girl out, and let me know what you think it is I do so wrong.  Yes, big inconsistencies in weekly mileage, yes months off at a time.  Yep, training programs started and stopped.  Maybe I just need to hear people I respect SAY it.

Some things less evident from the log:  I'm 36 female, I am what I call "skinny fat"  I am 5'8" 139.  I have never been especially athletic or excelled in a sport and have basically weighed the same for 18 years.  I work a lot and huge gaps in running are usually during stressful times during medical school, residency, fellowship, etc.  I'm a physician and hours are long and painful, but clearly a lot of consistent runners can say that.  I have legit asthma and take a long-acting inhaler twice/day.  I say legit because if I stop it, I am on the lethargic side and unable to climb a flight of stairs w/o huffing.  It's not exercise-induced or mild.  I say this because I think it matters though I try to pretend it doesn't!

I hired a personal trainer a few months ago for some core and strength but he was kind of self-centered and all about telling me how fast he is, which is true he runs ~6 min/mile for marathons and stuff...but still. One day he said to me (after we went to a race together) "most people at my level would never consider even coming to a race with someone who runs as slow as you do" Obviously I fired him as a trainer and a friend.  He kind of took the wind out of my sails.