Sub-20 Goal for 5k (2012) (Read 5412 times)

Thanks, good luck to you as well. I have no RD experience so this is going to be an interesting (but fun, I think) challenge. I'd love to see it take off in the US.

Good luck with that, it would be good to think every city in the world should have 1. My friend just went to Australia and did the Sydney one whilst over there. I have just volunteered to become a race director so I will get more of an understanding of how it all works if I take on the role. But its expanding, there are new ones being created in UK on a weekly basis, and spreading across the world.

Ran a 20:57 today in the Vermont Corporate Cup.  

I'm a little disappointed, but it is still 4 minutes faster than the last 5k I ran a couple years (and quite a few pounds) ago.  The race was very crowded and I lost about 10 seconds just getting to the start, and I used a lot of energy battling through people over the first mile or so.  When I hit the first mile at 7:10, I knew that it wasn't going to be great.  My three-person team took 2nd place in our category, which was kind of fun, even though first would have been much cooler.

After my marathon in a week, I'll concentrate on doing some more speed work and maybe I can make some progress on this goal.  The immediate question is:  how many miles of backpacking can I do this weekend without impairing my marathon next weekend?

lagwagon

rgilbert...nice run, especially just 10 days after a marathon.  I think with a little more rest, and maybe better pacing, you'll kill it next time. (fwiw, I dont think your splits are too bad...maybe a little sub-optimal but pretty common and very manageable)

stadjak

Interval Junkie --Nobby

Check me in as a graduate: 19:38. (Berkeley Glenn RoadRunner 5K)

I really did not expect this so soon -- especially as my last PR was 21:34 (Feb) (Amnesty International 5K) .

2021 Goals: 50mpw 'cause there's nothing else to do