Just starting out. (Read 744 times)

My Hero

Hello: I am a dog and I have started to run with my best friend. I am a mix of three breeds. German Shepard, Beagle, and Collie. Don't ask, I don't know how that stuff works. I think I am more German Shepard then anything else. I weigh 74 pounds these days and thought it would be a good idea to lose some weight. Well that is what mean vet says. Anyway, my best friend thought running might do the trick. So we have started running together. My goal is to run 600 miles this year. My best friend runs a lot and knows what to do for him but he has trouble answering any of my questions. Yesterday we went for a run and it was about 44 outside. I felt very sluggish. We had been running in 20 degree weather and all was fine. Do you think it is because I am just starting out with the running thing or do you think the temperature had more to do with it? I don't actually run but do more of a fast walk. My other best friend was running with me for a couple of miles at an 11 minute pace and now this guy is running me at a 9 minute pace for 4 miles. Like I said earlier when it was 20 degrees the pace and distance seemed okay. It is hard to notice because I am always running with my tongue hanging out. Smile Any suggestions or ideas on which might be my problem or what sort of running plan I should be using? I searched the internet but they did not have any training plans for meSad Do you think there are any limits on how far I should be able to run? Has a dog ever run a marathon?
    2009 Goal - Run 600 miles. Weigh 65 pounds
      I'm sorry, I really want to help, but all I hear is some barking sound.
      2009 Goals: Run 5x a week, Iron Horse Half-Marathon on a 6-month C2HM Program that completely made up and is probably unhealthy.