Suggestions on training for my 2nd 5K (Read 496 times)

I was wondering if anyone could give me some training suggestions for preparing for my 2nd 5K. I broke my leg since the last one and my doctor told me to add miles very slowly. I added 1/10th of a mile every month for the last 12 months and have finally reached 3.1 miles on the treadmill. I'm afraid of hurting my leg again so I don't want to get back to road too fast but I want to run a 5 K again. Any help would be appreciated.
      Well, I'll hand it to you, that's adding miles slowly. Do you think maybe you could bring up the mileage just a bit faster?
        I talked to the doctor and he told me under no circumstances do I add more than 1/10th of a mile per month. My break was a spiral break on the radius bone in my lower leg.

Go Pre!

your leg is healed. run more.
          AmoresPerros

Options,Account, Forums

Can you do some runs fast, and others slow? I'm no expert, but it seems that a couple fast runs a week, and the rest slow or anyway comfortable, is a strategy I've seen.

It's a 5k. It hurt like hell...then I tried to pick it up. The end.

I talked to the doctor and he told me under no circumstances do I add more than 1/10th of a mile per month.
              Until when? That may have been good advice directly after the break, but surely you don't believe that it will hold true for the rest of your life, so how long until your leg is considered 'fully healed'?
              Slo

Wow, I'm with the others. Your increase sounds extremely conservative. Not knowing your sitiuation I can't recommend anything other than putting a call into your Doc and getting clarification. Good Luck !
                RunAsics

The Limping Jogger