First 10km pace? (Read 1059 times)

Hey all, I have been running now for about 4 months and have been increasing my mileage pretty steadily. I am running a 10km race in 4 weeks and have found myself wondering about what pace I should go out at. I mostly run easy runs, and have no previous race experience to draw off of. I ran a 11km tempo the other day and managed a 5:17 pace. However I checked my time at the 7km point and it was 35:00 so a 5:00/km pace. My pace really seemed to fall off from there. I didn't push too hard to keep my pace up (like I would in a race). So just wondering should I go for the 5:00/km pace at the 10 km or aim for something slower. Hoping some of the wily old veterans have some advice for the newbie. Also is there something I should be doing the next 4 weeks aside from what I have been doing training wise.
      I think the tempo run should give you a good idea of what you can do, and based on that i would aim for 5:10-5:15/km. I don't think anything you do in the next few weeks will make a great difference, but I suggest reducing your running mileage for a few days before the race so your legs are well rested. Most people agree that for your first race enjoying yourself and the race day atmosphere is more important than an amazing finishing time, If you are running in the Sporting Life 10k rather than a local race in London, the course is downhill and very fast, so aim for 5:00/km, you can break 50 minutes in that race.

PBs since age 60:  5k- 24:36, 10k - 47:17. Half Marathon- 1:42:41.

10 miles (unofficial) 1:16:44.

Right on Hereford...