For those who run LOOOONG runs... (Read 868 times)

Baby bean!

and I'm talking over 10 miles... do you run the whole thing or do you take walk breaks?

Goals:
    Finish C25K

I'm slower than a herd of turtles stampeding through peanut butter, but I run.

celiacChris

3Days4Cure

I'm new to the 10+ mile territory, but I do run those straight through. I tried stopping to walk on one run and found it only made it harder to keep going. Others may have different thoughts, but that's just my experience.

Chris
      PRs: 27:26 5k/ 49:52 5mi/ 58:17 10k/ 2:09:24 half/ 5:13:17 Full

Post-Bipolar PRs: 38:35 5k/ 1:09:34 8k/ 1:09:39 5mi/ 1:33:03 10k/ 3:20:40 Half

2022 Goals

Back to 10k

AmoresPerros

Options,Account, Forums

and I'm talking over 10 miles... do you run the whole thing or do you take walk breaks?
        I usually run the whole thing, but I might take a walk break to drink, if I'm stopping by somewhere to pick up a water bottle. My guess is most people that do long runs usually run them straight through, but that's not based on any actual research Smile MTA: I don't think there is anything wrong with walking part of it. Also, if I stop at a drinking fountain and drink, well, that's not walking, but that is outright stopping Smile

It's a 5k. It hurt like hell...then I tried to pick it up. The end.

I usually run most of it, although I walk when I take a drink of water and I do get stopped at some stop lights. You will find out what works best for you. Congrats on getting to the 10 mile mark. Bob http://bobrunner.blogspot.com

jfa

Don't feel that you have to run through it all. Do what's right for you Cool

Most of my runs are over 10 miles and I walk when 1) I'm taking a drink from my water bottle (1 - 2 times/hr) - otherwise I can choke on it. 2) I'm walking in/out of the restroom door when taking a potty break (sometimes needed @ 10 miles) 3) A hill gets steep enough that I can walk faster than run up it

Baby bean!