Pool Mate - swimovate (Read 2319 times)

RunFree7

Run like a kid again!

Todays swim was the second with my new swim watch.  The first time all it did was tell me the total time.  So I tried to figure out what I did wrong and tightened it a little tighter and tried to glide longer at the turn.  This seemed to work great!  I have data to share.  This thing cost me $100 from the swim outlet and seems pretty accurate.  Since I am new to trying to become a serious swimmer I think the data will be very important.  It has an efficiency rating that I think will help me judge how I am doing as I go along.  It seems to count your strokes per laps, distance and speed.  This is more than I need.  Anyway, I am very happy with it so far.  It is all a manual download so I have to type in the information but that is okay. Below is some of the information from the watch.  I mainly bought this watch so that I didn't have to count laps anymore and could just swim for a period of time while trying to focus on my stroke.  At the very least I think this will be very good for that. 

EF = 60 (Efficiency)
    CA 351 (Calories)
    SP 161 (Speed seconds per 100m)
    M = 1300 (total meters for swim)
    Sk = 16 (Strokes per lap)
    Lap 52 ( # of laps)

Data can be viewed after swimming directly from the CLOCK screen
    by simply using the Up/Down buttons to scroll though Laps, Average
    Strokes per lap, Distance (metres), Speed (seconds per 100m),
    Calories, Efficiency and Time.

The Efficiency Index is calculated from the distance travelled per stroke
    and time per stroke. This index decreases as your efficiency increases.
    less than 30 Excellent -Professional athlete
    30-40 Very Good
    40-50 Above average
    50-70 Average
    more than 70 Below average

2011 Goals:
      Sub 19 5K (19:24 5K July 14th 2010)
      Marathon under 3:05:59 BQ (3:11:10 Indy 2010)
    Slo

Damn it Bearcat