achy knees (Read 1053 times)

Hello, I am also new to running and have been following a prescription based on Cool Running's beginner 5k program. I am mostly road/sidewalk running and my knees have been achy. Am I running too much? Too fast? I try to stick to the conversational pace but I am competitive with myself and I can't let go of constantly wanting to improve my time. I know, I know. Should I be taking a joint supplement such as glucosamine/chondroitin? I don't want to injure myself and because I am new, I am not sure if my aches are normal "growing" pains and will subside in time, or if I am pushing too hard. Oh, additionally, I think my shoes are fine. I was fitted at a professional running store (which is not to say I may not need to try something else). Any advice is greatly appreciated!
      I'm no expert, but looking at your log of what you are calling easy runs, compared to your recent 5k, I'd say you are probably running your easy runs too fast. Also you recently ramped up your mileage after 2 months off. Could be one or the other or both.

When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

Achy knees (non-specific, mostly limited to during the runs) is often a sign of runner's knee. Info here: http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_5/194.shtml I've been going through bouts of it, myself, and have recently started doing some of these exercise to help strengthen my quads: http://www.bigkneepain.com/knee-exercises.html

Go to http://certainintelligence.blogspot.com for my blog.

Lazy idiot

I'll agree with Bonkin that he's no expert. Wink I'm not either, but I'll say the same thing. When I started running at the beginning of the year, I was going too fast most of the time. Your body needs time to recover from harder efforts, and going slower (it will feel too slow for awhile) is the way to do it. Best of luck in alleviating your pain. I hope you feel better soon.

Tick tock

Ed4

Barefoot and happy