New runner - gearing up for a 5 mile race in 2 months - help! (Read 1131 times)

vmace

Smile Hi everyone or anyone who reads this! I am new to running - in fact new to anything physical at all! I am that kid that always had the note back in school days! Anyway, years later, and here I am giving myself a new challenge - a 5 mile run in 2 months time. I have geared up to 2.5 miles on the road now, but am slow! It takes me about 43 mins to do just that, and I fear being embarrased in the 5 mile run with a time of hours, when some of my runner friends would laugh at the distance and do it in a sickening 25 mins. Embarrassed Basically I need tips for - a) breaking the 2.5 mile barrier I seem to be at and b) getting faster! I am probably trying to run before I can walk (yes I know that was bad - what can I say, I am Welsh and have a lousy sense of humour!) - but I really want to feel good about the run in 2 months and not embarrased! God - I am such a woman! Anyway - any practical advice for increasing the distance and bettering my time would be useful! Smile
    Wingz

Professional Noob

I really want to feel good about the run in 2 months and not embarrased! God - I am such a woman! Anyway - any practical advice for increasing the distance and bettering my time would be useful! Smile