Hi, I'm new! (Read 661 times)

Hey all. I'm new to the boards/Running Ahead. Thought I would introduce myself. I'm Liz..I'll be 24 in May. I live in Southeastern Mass, a small town named Plympton. I grew up in Brockton, BHS '02 and am a Umass-Amherst Alum '06. I've always been a very athletic person, and decided to try some runs this spring/summer. I've been back running since December. I also plan to do some triathlons and some intense mountain biking as well. I play softball as well. I also ride horses for a living and have another job working with special needs kids. I enjoy being active! I do have a question or two. I've been doing some long runs on Saturdays, and this past Saturday I found by mile 6-7 that I got really fatigued. I finished my 8 miles, and was fine afterward, no soreness and no need for a nap or resting, but I was wondering what you all do for endurance? I have a 10 miler on Feb 17 in Foxboro, and my goal is very generous, 10 minute miles. I've never done a race before so If I can keep a 10 min mile or less, I'll be happy. But I want to be able to do it without that fatigue 3/4 of the way in. I do strength training, I don't know if that works with or against me. Anywho, Hi to all! Look forward to chatting with you/meeting you/running with you!! Liz
    Ringmaster