How long did it take you? (Read 1411 times)

PudgyRunner

I've been running only for a couple months now. I've always wanted to run a marathon, but never really gave it a lot of thought. A marathon is my long term goal for now. I know I have a looooong way to go, and I'm starting with my first 5k next month. I'm not going to go from a 5k to marathon either. I've already been looking at other longer races for future reference. Now I know it isn't the same for everyone, and there is nothing wrong with that, but my question is: how long from the time you started running, till your first marathon? Just curious.

The Greatest of All Time

For me it was 10 months and 60 lbs. But I could have completed one after about 6 months. No speed work. One 5k. No real hills either. First one out was 3:10 (Chicago 1996). I was 25 at the time by way of comparison and even with all that extra weight I was able to run 2 miles twice a day from the start of training. This was probably because of the running I did in the military. If you have never ran prior to now then it could take you longer. Maybe someone else with no running background that did what you're wanting to do can chime in.
      all you touch and all you see, is all your life will ever be

Obesity is a disease. Yes, a disease where nothing tastes bad...except salads.

My legs are killing me

2 years from the time I started running. I think the most fun when your starting out is to conquer distances. I always like the wonderment if I can actually finish a distance without walking. Good luck. Time flys and you'll be running your marathon before you know it.

Right on Hereford...

2001: started running 2006: first (and only) marathon But...a marathon was not my goal when I started running. Also, I never ran very consistently (at least 3 days per week) until around 2004-2005.
          C-R