Running Routines & Sleep (Read 117 times)

Hey folks,

I've been digging around for a community to join lately and I came across this website.

I have picked up running as a hobby in the past several months, but only in the past month or so have I started to actually follow a much more concise routine, i.e. run 2-3 days in a row, followed by a day of rest. I generally run between the hours of 5-7pm. I am finally up to about 4 miles now; I would consider this my long run. I normally don't shower until 8 or 8:30 during the evening (hot showers, not cold). I have no background of distance running when I was younger, so this is still relatively new to me.

I notice my sleep is really wacky on days I do run -- it is not as restful, or in some cases minimal. Off days I generally sleep very well. I try to be in bed by 9:30 or 10. Running often does not allow for that for me it seems. I've read that your body core temperature changes when you do cardio and hot showers and needs to be lowered for sleep.

I come across several studies online that do nothing but contradict each other in regards of hot showers before bed & running and just curious of your experiences.

I've grown to love running and really have no issue running before work at 6a or 7a so if a switch is recommended, I'm all for it.

I do track my runs on Runkeeper and here are a couple of tidbits of miles per month over the number of activities:

August 2017 - 20.3 miles

September 2017 - 10.3 miles (got married & honeymoon)

October 2017 - 37.6 miles (i started getting into a better routine here and slowly was able to increase distance). I've noticed a ton of progression with regularly scheduled exercise, but would like to address the issue of sleep as I know it will hinder future performance. I hope to run my first 5k within several months.

I've used the search function on here and wasn't able to find any information discussing this.

Vol