Sub 1:30 Half Marathon in 2018 (Read 704 times)

Awesome week, JMAC.

SteveChCh - just use a golf ball on your calf!

This past week:

Monday - 4.5 miles @ 7:53 pace

Tuesday - 2 miles + 7x1200m @ 6:04 pace + 1 mile

Wednesday - 8 miles (slow)

Thursday - 4.5 miles @ 6:34 pace

Friday - 2 miles + 10 x 200m Hills @ 6:16 pace + 2 miles

Saturday - off

Sunday - 22 miles @ 7:29 pace

Total: 52 miles

Which leads me to this...should I shoot for a 3:15 marathon in two weeks? I rolled off a lot of 7:10 miles today until mile 18 where I decided to sort of cut back the pace.  Things started to suck around mile 22 and my pace fell to 7:50’s...so I’m pretty sure another 4 miles on pace were not going to happen. This was not a flat course either.

I'm thinking if I run steady 7:28’s in Chicago, I have a shot. Thoughts?

Mark nice week good luck with the race this weekend

JMac another nice week

Brose nice week.....I'm no expert but imo you should be able to hit 3:15.

for me I got back on track with the mileage.  I also got a new pair of shoes (Altra Paradigm 4) went for a shoe with a lot of cushion  to help my feet out these also have a zero drop and I can definitely tell I am using some different muscles.  the first run was on Wednesday, and I was hardly able to maintain my slow pace and had to work at it. I wore my old shoes on Thursday and decided to give the new ones a try again on Saturday although it was much harder to get up to and maintain my M pace I did it. Really sore still today though.  Hopefully I'll adjust.

I still need to find a pair of shoes to run the race in though as these are just too soft.

Weekly Summary
      Monday, Sep 17, 2018 thru Sunday, Sep 23, 2018

<tfoot> </tfoot>
      Day Miles Pace Description Link
      Mon 10.0 8:05 Evening Run strava
      Wed 4.4 8:47 Evening Run strava
      Thu 7.0 8:23 Evening Run strava
      Sat 12.0 8:05 3E+5M+2E+1T+1E strava
      Sun 15.2 8:45 Morning Run strava
        48.6 8:25    

PR's

1m  5:38 (2018)