New to running could use some advice (Read 1029 times)

microwavable

Hey everyone I am new to running. I used to play soccer and that is all i knew about running. Sad I have read some posts but i do not know all the terminology or where to even start. I read about people having logs but i don't know the first thing about those. What is mpw? How many miles should i start out with? How long does it take to run a half marathon? Can anyone help me with staying motivated? I get discourage when my mile time is over 10:00 mins, but hey at least i can run a mile Tongue Can i train for a marathon doing just interval training? I also only plan on running 3-4 times a week so any help would be very appreciated Thanks!!

Queen of 3rd Place

Hard to say not knowing anything about you. A lot of people start with the C25K plan (couch to 5K): http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml It might be too easy for you since you have some athletic background. mpw - miles per week Don't worry how fast or slow you go for now. Slow is good, and a diet of 100% easy runs is really all you need right now, easy = you should be able to easily carry on a conversation. Many of us started of waay slower than 10 min per mile (or got hurt trying to go faster than that)...that may be too fast for you! If you want to just do interval training, well, see ya on the sidelines...Wink If you click on the "training log" tab here you'll find a page where you can log your runs. Make your log public if you want additional feedback. For building up miles and building up to half marathons and such, this is as good/bad as any resource: http://www.halhigdon.com/ There's no great "one size fits all" program. Just take it easy, increase your mileage a little at a time, be patient. Arla

Ex runner

RunAsics

The Limping Jogger