OK Marathoners and Half Marathoners...A Question... (Read 1087 times)

Better I Leave

...do you guys still register/participate in 5K/10K runs? I'm curious as I'm new to this whole "world of running" cuz I can see benefits to it to maintain fitness and/or work on speed etc...yeah?

an amazing likeness

You're going to get about a gazillon replies...but in general, I think you'll find that most folks run a variety of the popular race distances. Focusing on one distance is less common. Many of the longer distance training plans will have runners race shorter distances as well.

Shorter answer = For all the reasons you mention, yes.

(As an example, I'm just a run of the mill aging jogger and this year my race mix was: 1x1mi, 1x5K, 1x4mi, 2x5mi, 4x10K, 1x10mi, 15x13.1mi.)

Acceptable at a dance, invaluable in a shipwreck.

bojangles

I sometimes even sign up for the one mile run for the little kids. Feels amazing coming in first. A win is a win.

Better I Leave

You're going to get about a gazillon replies...but in general, I think you'll find that most folks run a variety of the popular race distances. Focusing on one distance is less common. Many of the longer distance training plans will have runners race shorter distances as well.

Shorter answer = For all the reasons you mention, yes.

(As an example, I'm just a run of the mill aging jogger and this year my race mix was: 1x1mi, 1x5K, 1x4mi, 2x5mi, 4x10K, 1x10mi, 15x13.1mi.)

Wow...You did 15 half marathons this last year? Much respect my friend. I'm shooting for 4 half marathons, 2 tough mudders and a few 5-10Ks next year myself. Thanks for the feedback. Smile

Better I Leave

I sometimes even sign up for the one mile run for the little kids. Feels amazing coming in first. A win is a win.

**giggle** kewlness.